Draw me the abolition

29 avril 2013

Out of the mouths of babes: drawings made by French and Spanish secondary school students demonstrate the commitment of the youth against the death penalty.

The drawing submitted for the contest “Draw me abolition” organized by ECPM and Poster for Tomorrow and presented at the World Congress Against the Death Penalty show that the younger generation brings hope of a world without the death penalty.

Eight classes from France and five classes from Madrid took part in this civic education initiative conducted as part of ECPM’s “Education for Human Rights and the Abolition of the Death Penalty” project.

The students, aged 12 to 18, first attended an awareness-raising session to understand the issues related to capital punishment and to become familiar with arguments for its abolition. On this occasion, the French students met Ahmed Haou, a Moroccan formerly sentenced to death, who shared his experience of the death sentence and imprisonment after he was convicted for writing slogans against the political regime.

The Spanish students met José Joaquin Martinez, a Spanish former death row inmate, who explained how he had been convicted after a false accusation and stressed the importance of rejecting the desire for revenge and the need to make the death penalty debate more objective.

The students then met with graphic designers from the network Poster for Tomorrow (Hervé Matine, Nicolle Bertrand, Régis Léger, Jorge Chamorro, Pipo y Astutto), who came to teach them graphic design techniques and to advise them during the creation of their posters.

The international jury of human rights defenders and graphic designers received 240 entries and selected around 30 drawings.

These posters will help raise international awareness on the need to achieve full and final abolition of the death penalty.

And the winnters are…

Alberto Montero, colegio Legamar, Madrid.

Albert Rodriguez, colegio Legamar, Madrid

Amanda Gavilar, colegio Legamar, Madrid.

Carlos Perez, colegio Legamar, Madrid.

Mathilde Faivre, lycée Gustave Courbet, Belfort.

Irma Karalic, lycée Gustave Courbet, Belfort.

Anne Prunet, lycée Gustave Courbet, Belfort.

Hatice Nalcaci, lycée Gustave Courbet, Belfort.

Tiphaine Chomaz, lycée Paul Héroult, Saint Jean de Maurienne.

Marine Wu, collège André Malraux, Asnières sur Seine.

Ludivine Akopoff, collège André Malraux, Asnières sur seine.

Méléla Zégagh, collège Jean Vilar, La Courneuve.

Elvira Sancho, colegio Legamar, Madrid.

Ragulann Krishrapillai, collège Edouard Manet, Villeneuve-la-Garenne.

Awatif Darabid, collège Edouard Manet, Villeneuve-la-Garenne.

Celia Deletraz, collège Edouard Manet, Villeneuve-la-Garenne.

Zakaria, El Bahri, collège Edouard Manet, Villeneuve-la-Garenne.

Marta Bonnin Bravo, Alliance française, Madrid.

Pablo sanchez Lopez, Alliance française, Madrid.

Loreto Bottigues Flores, Alliance française, Madrid.

silvia Martin Vegas, Alliance française, Madrid.

Gema Valdedivas, Alliance française, Madrid.

Shaïma Bouzebiba, collège la Pléïade, Sevran.

Nogueye Niang, collège la Pleïade, Sevran.

Allan Hatterer-Boilet, Lycée jeanne d'Arc, Montrouge.

Minfiany Adjé, lycée Jeanne d'Arc, Montrouge.

Manon Viel, lycée Jeanne d'Arc, Montrouge.

Miguel de Vicente, colegio Legamar, Madrid.

Arthur Jegouzo, lycée Jeanne d'Arc, Montrouge.

Sofia Sanz, colegio Legamar, Madrid.

Members of the jury:

Mahmood Amiry-Moghaddam – Iran Human Rights (Norway)
Jorge Chamorro – Graphic designer (Spain)
Raphaël Chenuil-Hazan – ECPM (France)
Nathalie Chuard – Ministry of foreign affairs (Switzerland)
Olivier Déchaud – ECPM (France)
Cristina Fraile Jimenez de Muñana – Ministry of foreign affairs (Espagne)
Tanya Ghorra – ALEF (Lebanon)
Evelyne Giordani – Lifespark (Switzerland)
Ariane Grésillon – ECPM (France)
Mohsen Kamal – Andalus Institute for Tolerance and anti-Violence (Egypt)
Régis Léger – Graphic designer (France)
Strand Lene Richter – Ministry of foreign affairs (Norway)
Joaquin José Martinez – Former death row prisoner (Spain)
Hervé Matine – Poster for Tommorow (France)
Lievin Ngondji – East and Central Africa Coalitoin Against the Death Penalty (DRC)
Bertrand Nicole – Graphic designer (France)
Linda Omenia – Poster for Tomorrow (France)
Nicolas Perron – ECPM (France)
Pipo y Astutto – Graphic designers (Spain)
Nadège Poulain – ECPM (France)
Marianne Rossi – ECPM (France)
Thibaut Samson – Ministry of foreign affairs (France)
Manuela Villa Acosta – Matadero (Espagne)
Mostafa Znaidi – Moroccan Coalition Against the Death Penalty (Morocco)

Marianne Rossi